Subscribe with us

Good News! FG approves 8 new Private Universities       

The Federal Government of Nigeria has approved eight new Private Universities in the country.

The approval was granted at the Presidential Villa, Abuja during a meeting of the Federal Executive Council, which held at the council chamber.

Briefing State House Correspondents, the Minister of State for Education, Anthony Onwuka, stated that the ministry “submitted a memo seeking approval for eight private universities after recommendation by the NUC”.

He listed the eight newly private Universities as  Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos; Arthur Jarvis Akpabuyo University, Calabar, Coal City University, Enugu;  Cross River; Clifford University, Owerinta, Abia; Crown Hill University, Kwara; Dominican University, Ibadan, Oyo; Kola Daisy University, also in Ibadan; and Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State

Mr. Onwuka reveals that three years provisional license were given to the new universities and that they would have to be mentored by older Universities.

He stated that Anchor University will be mentored by the University of Lagos, Jarvis University by the University of Calabar while Clifford University by the University of Agriculture, Umudike.

Coal city University will be mentored by the University of Nigeria Nsukka; Crown Hill University by the University of Ilorin; Legacy University, Okija, will be mentored by the Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka while the two new universities in Oyo State, Kola Daisy and Dominican universities, will be mentored by the University of Ibadan.

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Post comment as a guest



  • No comments found

Trending Videos

Trending Music

Sport Video

10 Common words Nigerians use daily that don't appear in the dictionary

1. Go-slow: When Nigerians say go-slow, they mean congested traffic, which is wrong. The meaning of go-slow in the English dictionary is, a form of industrial action in which work or progress is deliberately delayed or slowed down.
Read more

Go to top